Fancy Brunch for One

I didn’t have to be at work until after noon today so I slept in and decided to treat myself to a fancy brunch.

Fancy Brunch for One 1

I love this meal because it won’t weigh you down, yet it is very filling. It is also a feast for the eyes with the rainbow of colors going on. I will post a recipe, but the beauty of this meal is that you can use whatever ingredients you have on hand. I used pineapple in the juice, but you could easily substitute apples or pears. I also used kale, spinach and parsley in my juice — collards, chard or any other leafy green would do. In the parfait, I used persimmons but fresh berries would be wonderful as well. Speaking of persimmons, I have only ever had Fuyu persimmons. This type has a flat bottom and squat shape and you can eat it while it is still firm; it will be crunchy and sweet and slightly tart. Hachiya persimmons, on the other hand, are heart shaped and extremely tart until fully ripened and very soft.

Fancy Brunch for One 2

Fancy Brunch for One (Printable Recipe)

For the juice:
1/2 cucumber
2-3 stalks celery
3 leaves of kale
1/4 cup spinach
3 sprigs of parsley
1 cup chopped pineapple
1/2 lime, peeled
For the parfait:
plain Greek yogurt
1 Fuyu persimmon, chopped
chia seeds
agave nectar

  1. Juice all of the juice ingredients in a juicer. Transfer to a jar with a lid. Add ice and shake before drinking.
  2. Make a parfait with the Greek yogurt and persimmon. Drizzle with agave and sprinkle with chia seeds.

From Sarah’s Kitchen, With Love

Leave a Reply

