Chai Spice Banana Smoothie

Flu, Flu go away. Don’t come back another day.

I got the dreaded flu last Wednesday. I was completely out of commission for two and a half days. I’m back to work, but I’m still feeling the effects, and I still have a cough.

I didn’t drink this smoothie while I had the flu, but I think it would have been a good one to make. Smoothies are very soothing for a sore throat and they are good to eat when you don’t have much appetite because they don’t make you feel overly full. Plus you can get a perfectly balanced meal without cooking a bunch of stuff or trying too hard.

Chai Spice Banana Smoothie IMG_20130114_143437

The only downside to smoothies is that they are cold and winter is cold. At least in Wisconsin. Sometimes I just want a warm breakfast. Usually I solve this dilemma by just having a mug of tea along with my smoothie, but I do eat eggs and breakfast quinoa too. This smoothie is a little different though. Because it’s spiced, it seems more “warming” to me. Similar to the eggnog smoothie, those spiced seasonal flavors can come off as warming. So I found this smoothie satisfying and comforting while I’m healing up from the flu.

Chai Spice Banana Smoothie (Printable Recipe)
serves 1

1 cup almond coconut milk
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
handful of torn kale leaves
1 frozen banana
1 teaspoon chai spice
1 teaspoon minced ginger
1/2 teaspoon creamed coconut or coconut oil

  1. Add milk, protein powder and torn kale leaves to the blender and blend until smooth.
  2. Add remaining ingredients to the blender and blend to desired consistency.

Do you add spice to your smoothies? What’s your favorite or most unusual spice to add?

From Sarah’s Kitchen, With Love

Leave a Reply

