An Eggnog Inspired Smoothie

Eggnog is one of my favorite holiday treats. I haven’t had the real deal yet this winter, but I decided to try and satisfy my craving with a smoothie. I’m not going to say it tastes just like eggnog, but it is delicious. 

IMG_20121219_091543

There’s going to be a huge snowstorm starting at 6 pm tonight! They said 12 to 17 inches of snow! I love snow, and we haven’t had any yet this year, so I am very happy about this. I’m also really hoping for a snow day, though I don’t think you get those anymore once you’re an adult. Since I am hoping to be snowed in, I will probably go pick up some real eggnog to have available for sipping on the couch while knitting up a storm, listening to Christmas music and watching snow fall while being warmed by a crackling fire (I don’t have a real fireplace. I will instead use the fireplace channel which is now available streaming on Netflix and somehow has 2 episodes. I will let you know the differences between episodes 1 and 2).

IMG_20121219_091351

eggnog inspired smoothie 1

If you don’t have real eggnog, or if you want something healthier, or if you’re vegan, or if you just want something easy, yummy and satisfying to eat, try this smoothie.

Eggnog Inspired Smoothie (Printable Recipe)
serves 1

1 frozen banana
1 cup almond coconut milk (or other milk of your choice)
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
1 spoonful of almond butter
1 date, pitted
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
pinch of cinnamon
pinch of nutmeg

  1. Place all ingredients into a blender and process until smooth.

Notes:

  • I would have added a green leafy vegetable to this, but I was out. 
  • You can add a pinch of xanthan gum to thicken this smoothie up a bit if you wish.
  • Like I’ve mentioned before, try to buy your dates refrigerated as opposed to in the bulk bins or on store shelves. The refrigerated ones are much softer and blend up ten million times better.

From Sarah’s Kitchen, With Love

One thought on “An Eggnog Inspired Smoothie

Leave a Reply

