Spicy Coconut Cookies (gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free and sugar-free!)

I know, I know; it’s been a while.

There was a big change with my job, and I’ve been crazy busy lately. But I’m trying to refocus and get back to cooking. And blogging about it. I’m actually doing a detox right now (Core Restore). So I’m on a very restricted diet. But I’m still craving cookies of course. I threw these together to treat myself for making it through the first 4 days of the detox. 3 more to go! Once I’m finished with the detox I plan on putting up a post about how it went and what I ate during it.

I got up early to vote today and I hope you voted too!

Spicy Coconut Cookies (Printable Recipe)

1 cup Earth Balance organic coconut spread (or other butter/butter substitute of your choice)
1 cup date sugar (this is just dried and ground up dates, you can find it at Whole Foods and most health food stores, or use a different sweetener of your choice)
1 flax egg (1 tablespoon ground flax whisked with 3 tablespoons water)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup brown rice flour
1/4 cup tapioca flour
1/3 cup sorghum flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
unsweetened coconut flakes
sliced almonds

  1. Whip together the coconut spread and date sugar in mixer for a few minutes.
  2. Add the flax egg and vanilla, mix. Scrape down the sides of the mixing bowl.
  3. Mix in the flours, spices, baking powder and soda and salt until combined.
  4. Turn dough out onto parchment or wax paper. Form into a log for whatever size cookies you want to make. I made tiny little three bite cookies. Refrigerate for 1 hour.
  5. Preheat oven to 350. Cut cookies out of your dough log. Place them on a parchment-lined or greased (if you’re out of parchment like I was) baking sheet. Top with shredded coconut and sliced almonds. Bake for 10 minutes.
  6. Enjoy right out of the oven and they will be soft, or wait until they cool and form a crunchy crust.

 

From Sarah’s Kitchen, With Love

2 thoughts on “Spicy Coconut Cookies (gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free and sugar-free!)

Leave a Reply

